While I was cleaning my house today I glanced out the window and saw a truck right in front of our house.  Not just any truck.  A Christmas light decorating truck.  Knowing they had the wrong house, I watched to see what would happen.  Would they start decorating our house?  The two men got out of the truck and looked at our house.  They looked at the other houses around us.  They looked down.  They looked at each other.

I looked around at the other houses, too.  All of the other homes on our circle have Christmas lights up already.  We have our lights.  We just haven’t put them out yet.  We usually put them up in November, but last year our lights were not working well so we don’t have those anymore.  We had to buy new lights this year.  And we did.  We will put them outside.  I promise.

Finally, the Christmas light men got back into their truck and drove off.  No Christmas lights here.  Not yet.

You know, Jesus is the light of the world.  He came from heaven to earth so that we could someday go from earth to heaven.  He loves us so much!

Maybe today you feel like my dark house among other brightly lit up houses around you.  You can know Jesus today!

Maybe you have trusted Jesus as your Savior.  When we know the Light of the World our lives should shine, just like all the decorated houses around me.  Jesus told us in Luke 8:16, “No one lights a lamp and hides it in a jar or puts it under a bed.  Instead, he puts it on a stand, so that those who come in can see the light,” (NIV).

What I haven’t told you yet is that we do have some lights.  We have a Christmas tree with simple white lights in our front window.  That will shine tonight.  And everyone will see.  It’s kind of like the way that Jesus shines in us.  When we trust Him as our Lord and Savior, He will never leave us.  As we spend time with Him by reading the Bible, praying, going to church and telling others about Jesus, we will get to know Him more.  And that light within us will shine.  Even if it’s just like a simple Christmas tree with calm white lights.

I hope that people see the light of Jesus in me today.  Like my simple tree that will shine through the window tonight.  And like the homes around me that light up the darkness.

We’ve got to get our Christmas lights out!

