what are word for?

“Boys!  Dinner!”

My sons like to play in the basement before dinner time.  This is how I call them for dinner.  It hasn’t always been this way.  Being female, I used to call downstairs and say things like “Boys, Dad is home so be ready to eat in a few minutes.” or “The spaghetti is done.  It’s time for dinner.” to which I received replies like, “Huh?” or “What?”  because I used too many words.  Once I shortened my statement to simple facts – Boys.  Dinner.  – they quickly came running up the stairs.

I just recently opened a Twitter account.  How do you say things in 140 characters?  I’m pretty sure it was a girl who came up with the no spaces idea.  You know, like #howdoisaythisin140characters?

The other evening I was sitting on the couch with my husband.  I was reading my Children’s Ministry Magazine and he was reading his Steve Jobs book that he received for a Christmas gift.  He could hear a quiet hum coming from our refrigerator – the sound it makes when I’m using the quick thaw drawer.  He asked me what I was thawing.  I proceeded to tell him about the sausages that I was thawing for dinner the next night , why I had those particular sausages, about the sauce I wanted to use with them and why I was planning to have it the following evening for dinner.  Then I noticed the smile in his eyes and I laughed.  All I needed to say was “Italian sausages.”

Sometimes we can talk too much when we’re teaching our children’s ministry kids, too.  We need to teach them important Bible truth, but what are we doing to encourage them to discover on their own?  Kids today want to be involved in our lessons.  We need to give them opportunities to ask and answer questions.  To read God’s Word for themselves.  They will experience God and learn so much more when we guide them rather than simply lecturing them.  One of my favorite times teaching Sunday school was when I set up centers for the kids to choose after my lesson.  We were learning that God created everything just by speaking. Two boys chose the center where they could just spend time reading our Bible passage in Bibles.  Soon I heard, “Mrs. Lori!”  I had to go see what they were so excited about.  Then they announced their discovery from God’s Word that day, “God made everything just by speaking!”  They got it!  I spoke less, which allowed God’s Word to speak more.

God’s Word is amazing!  We should tell that to our kids, but also help them see it for themselves!

Oh, and if you’re wondering, the Italian sausage was delicious!

