English: Photograph of an open Bible with focu...

The other day I had lunch with the other ladies on my volunteer team for Good News Club.  It is always so much fun to get together with others who are serving God and I love to hear about how God is working in others’ lives.  It’s so neat how God can work in all of our lives all at the same time.  How does He do that?!  Okay, I know.  He’s God.  And I wouldn’t want to serve a God that I could completely comprehend.  Our God is amazing!  And so is His Word!  Which brings me to my thought today.  What is your favorite Bible verse? Or story?

I love the true story of Elijah and the prophets of Baal.  It’s so funny how the prophets of Baal spent the whole day trying to get their god to make fire.  Elijah watched them, even taunted them a bit.  Then finally near the end of the day, Elijah had his turn.  He prayed to God – the one true God – and there was fire.  So cool!

And John 3:16 has to be a favorite.  The Gospel message in one sentence.  God loves us so much!

Isaiah 40:26 and Psalm 147:4 are similar, showing that God knows all of the stars by name.  Just that in itself is amazing, but what I like is that God knows the stars by name, but He also knows our names – my name – and He wants a relationship with us – with me – not the stars.  Amazing.

I wrote about another favorite verse in my last post.  Check out “Discarded Christmas Trees”  where I mentioned Psalm 139:17-18.  I love that verse!

I could go on and on, but what about YOU?  What is your best Bible verse ever?

