Have you ever had problems with laundry?  So often I wash clothes, then put them into the dryer and later take them out and realize that I dried a tank top.  If you have tank tops you know what happens.  They shrink.  It is a horrible feeling to take a tank top out of the dryer because you know that it will be forever short.  Ugh!

Recently I washed a sweater.  I love this sweater.  It is so soft, warm… and made of wool.  No it didn’t shrink.  I didn’t put it in the dryer.  It actually came out very nicely.  But everything else in the washer was covered with cream colored wool strings.  I’m still removing strings from all of those other clothes.  My husband’s and sons’ clothes should not look like my wool sweater!

As I pulled string after string off of shirts I was reminded of how we are to live in the world, but not be like the world.  Which makes me wonder, what do I look like?  When people look at me, I want them to see Jesus.  I don’t want to look like the world.  I want to be different.  Why would others want to listen to the good news I have to share if I’m just like them?  James tells us very clearly, “…don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God?  Anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God,” (James 4:4, NIV).  I’m pretty sure that James is not telling us to completely isolate ourselves from the world.  How will they ever know the love of Jesus that James experienced?  I think that as Jesus’ younger half-brother, James would tell us to show by the way that we live that we believe in Jesus as our Lord and Savior.

So I’m just like those clothes tumbling along together in my washing machine, but I will choose to stay in friendship with God by spending time with Him, reading His Word and spending time with other believers.  Those wool strings are not going to stick to me!

