A treasure chest

In honor of “Talk Like a Pirate Day” I have decided to dig for some hidden treasure.  So all hands on deck!  Here we go!

I love digging in God’s Word for treasure.  Aye.  It’s true.

For the last few months I have been studying the Psalms and David and First and Second Samuel.  There is so much treasure in there!  David even wrote about God’s laws in Psalm 19:10, “They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold” (NIV).  And I just started going to a Bible study at church where we will study Genesis.  I love studying Genesis.  When my Sunday school kids told me that they wanted to learn about Creation, bliney!, I was all over that!  I wrote three months of curriculum and loved to watch their faces as they discovered the treasures in God’s Word about how everything began.  So, yes,  I mean, aye, I could spend hours every day just reading the Bible, doing word studies and researching the authors and the culture.  There is so much digging for treasure to be done.  But have you ever had God just hand you a treasure?  When you’ve spent so much time talking to Him and then He just shows up and speaks to you?  Now that is real treasure.

So yesterday I was a bit later than usual to pick up my son from school because my daughter called and we were enjoying chatting with each other.  Since there wasn’t much time before school would be out I kept my iPod playing in the car and just rolled down the windows and enjoyed the nice, slightly cool weather.  Usually I read a book, but this time I simply looked out the window.  That’s when I saw it.  Clover weeds and a butterfly.  Such a simple thing, but it was so fun to watch that little yellow butterfly hover over those white and purple flowers.  When I was little and then when my kids were little I enjoyed making crowns and necklaces with those simple flowers.  Then came the treasure.  God reminded me that He created that butterfly for His glory.  And He created me for His glory.  And those flowers, well, they were right there last year and the year before that and the year before that… and they would be there again next year.  And, avast ye!  God is like that!  God has always been good and He has always been here and He will continue to be good and here.  The writer of the Hebrews wrote to believers in 13:5, “…God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you” (NIV).  Those words are a treasure.

Now you have to understand my iPod.  Thanks to my own kids and my ministries with kids I enjoy a variety of music.  My playlist in my car includes songs from Hillsong Kids, Hillsong United, Skillet, TobyMac, BarlowGirl…Savvy?  (Yesterday morning a Jump5 song was “spinning around” in my head after hearing it in my car!)  But at this moment the song “Promise of a Lifetime” by Kutless played.  With it’s lyrics like “I know you’re always there to hear my every prayer” and “I hear the words you say to never walk away from me and leave behind the promise of a lifetime” it was a treasure indeed.  Aye.  God is so good.  A real, true treasure.  More precious than gold.

So while I’m enjoying talking like a pirate today (I greeted my swashbuckling son this morning with a hearty “Ahoy Matey!” and later informed him that our ship would be sailing to school shortly.) I’m also enjoying searching for hidden treasure.  And treasure that’s not so hidden.  And I’m grateful for the amazing treasure I have in Jesus.

Here’s a link to the song by Kutless:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_38RfYrFYA

And in celebration of “Talk Like a Pirate Day” here’s a link just for fun!  http://www.jellytelly.com/video/pirate-etiquette-spoons/

Got some hidden treasure to share?  I’d love to hear it!  And I won’t make you walk the plank!  Aaaargh!

