English: Fishing boat, Ballydorn The “John Boy...

Looking for adventure?  Steven Curtis Chapman sang a song called “The Great Adventure” several years ago.  I thought about that song the other day when I heard from my sister-in-law about ways that God had been using her to draw other people to Himself.  What a great adventure!

It made me think of how Jesus called people to follow Him and said, “Come follow Me.”  Just imagine with me for a moment those twelve friends of Jesus.  All the amazing things that they saw Jesus do.  And the amazing things that they heard Him say.  When Jesus called His fishermen friends He added, “and I will make you fishers of men.”  And He did.  Jesus taught his friends and enabled them to do amazing things for Him.  And He does the same for us.  What a great adventure!  Okay, so the adventure is not always easy.  In fact, it can be very difficult at times.  But it is never boring.

Those words, “I will make you,” stand out to me.  God will make us.  God will work in us and stay with us every step of the way.  When we choose to follow Jesus, God has a plan for us.  He has a great adventure.  And if we will choose to truly know Him, to consistently spend time with Him in prayer and in His Word, He will be able to use us in ways that we can’t even imagine to draw other people to Him.  Now that’s adventure!

In fact, we can be “fishers of men” right where we are today:  at home with our kids, at the office, on the road, in the store….  When we listen to the Holy Spirit, God will give us opportunities for adventure.  I remember a time when I was sitting in a meeting at my son’s school and a lady that I didn’t know sat next to me.  The Holy Spirit told me to invite her to the Moms in Prayer group that I was leading at the time.  I didn’t.  Then I saw her again later that day at the school and this time I did invite her.  It turned out that she was a Christian and was going through a very difficult time.  God used the ladies in my prayer group to surround her and help her through that time.  It was so neat to see how much God cared for her!

Something happens when we follow Jesus.  When we choose to spend time with Him in His word and in prayer.  Jesus said in John 12:26a, “Whoever serves me must follow me,” (NIV).  We must follow Jesus in order to serve Him.  We were all created to know God and have a part in advancing His Kingdom purposes.  Which brings me back to my sister-in-law.

I asked my sister-in-law if she would be a guest on my blog and she agreed.  So I am excited to introduce you to my sister-in-law, Denise Olsen, very soon.  Denise has been such a blessing to our family.  I know she loves God’s Word because as soon as her first child could talk, Denise helped her memorize Scripture.  Imagine our surprise around the table when they came to visit and my very young niece who sat on a chair piled high with phone books to reach the table shared a Bible verse.  That was many years ago, but just the beginning of the fun of getting to know Denise.

Check back very soon for “The Great Adventure, Part 2” to learn about the recent adventures that God has had for Denise.  You won’t want to miss it!

In the meantime, are you ready for your great adventure?  Here’s some encouragement from Steven Curtis Chapman.

