sandheart1Have you ever played in the sand?  I have.  And it’s so much fun!

Sand is everywhere.  Our sandbox.  Our neighborhood park.  The beach, the oceans and deserts.

One of our favorite things to do when my kids were young was going to the park and playing in the sand.  As they grew older we could make the most amazing sand castle villages.  They were amazing!  When we were ready to go back home, we emptied our shoes and tried to brush off all those tiny little grains of sand.  And we never could get them all off.  We always seemed to bring home lots of those little grains of sand.

Have you ever tried to count those grains of sand?  How many could there be in one sandbox?  One playground?  One child’s shoe or even just stuck to one foot?  A lot!  Way more than I could ever count!  There was a man in the Bible who also knew that there is a lot of sand out there.  That man was David.  He wrote this in Psalm 139:17-18, “How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!  How vast is the sum of them!  Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.  When I awake, I am still with you” (NIV).

David knew that God was thinking about him even more times than the number of grains of sand on this whole earth.  Now that’s a lot of times!  Do you know what that means?  That means that God is thinking about each one of us all the time!  I like that because that means that God cares about us and He loves us.

I get to go speak to some elementary school children soon and when I asked God what He wanted me to tell them He said, “Tell them I love them.”  So I’m going to bring my sand and let them know how much God loves them.  Who knows?  Maybe they’ll be celebrating Valentine’s Day with sand this year!

And the next time you see sand, remember – God is thinking about YOU!

