English: The Kraken roller coaster ride at Sea...

This summer my family and I spent some time at an amusement park.  As I waited in line for the roller coasters I watched each group of people get into their seats, buckle their seat belts, hold onto their shoulder bars and then leave.  They always came back safely inside their seat.

Each time that it came to my turn to buckle myself in, I realized that we put a lot of faith in those seat belts and roller coasters.  Yet sometimes we hear about roller coasters stopping upside down and firemen coming to help the people safely to the ground.  I don’t really want to be left hanging upside down for half an hour.  But I still ride roller coasters because I trust them to work properly.

As I waited in line for another ride, “The Detonator,” I noticed a seat that was blocked off with an “out of order” sign so that no one would sit in it.  And I was glad that I was not the one to find out that that particular seat was not working properly.  When it was my turn I still trusted my seat to hold me in as it rapidly propelled me up into the sky and then quickly pulled me back down again, repeatedly.

Here’s the thing.  We put all of our trust in those rides.  The roller coasters that twist and turn you upside down and pull you high into the sky just to quickly drop you and then do it all over again.  And all those other crazy, but very fun rides.  We trust them, knowing in the back of our minds that sometimes they don’t work.

Then we don’t trust God.  He is the one who made us, loves us, always keeps His promises and never leaves us hanging upside down until someone else can help us.  He never has an “out of order” sign.  He is always there, waiting for us to come to Him and trust Him.

Each day I want to choose to trust God who has proven Himself to be trustworthy over and over again.  He even said this, “…I have chosen you and have not rejected you.  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand,” (Isaiah 41: 9b-10 NIV).  Now that is something we can put our faith in.

* Thank you to my friend, Jenifer, for listening to me share about my roller coaster adventures and inspiring and encouraging me to write this post.  I appreciate you, Jenifer!

