SCAN0896I came across one of the cutest pictures.  You can see it here.  It’s a picture of my brother wearing Daddy’s shoes before I was born.  It reminds me of the pictures that I have of my own kids stepping into my shoes or my husband’s shoes and trying to walk around.  Trying to be like Mommy or Daddy.

One of my husband’s parents’ favorite stories to tell over and over is about the day that one of my sons visited them and very proudly showed them the belt that he was wearing.  It was just like Daddy’s belt and he wanted everyone to see that he was like his Daddy.

I’m sure you can think about times when kids that you know have done the same thing.  They’ve tried to imitate their Daddy.  Which makes me wonder.  Do we still want to be like Daddy?  Not our earthly Daddy, but our Heavenly Father.  Do we want to imitate Him?

Ephesians 5:1 says, “Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children,” (NASB).  That verse makes me think of this picture of my brother, a child loved by his parents and desiring to imitate his Daddy by walking in his shoes.  What if we still did that today?  Or maybe the better question is, How can we still do that today?  Verse 2 says to “walk in love,” verses 8-10 say, “…walk as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness and righteousness and truth), trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord.”  There is a lot more in this chapter of Ephesians about how to walk and how not to walk, but I like these verses because they remind me of my children walking in shoes that – even thought they were too big for them – they were so happy to try.  Maybe imitating God feels like we’re walking in shoes that are too big for us, but we are called to try anyway.  And the best thing is, we don’t have to do it on our own.  God is right here with us all the time.

So how are you doing at imitating your Daddy today?  I think our Heavenly Father looks on us with delight when we do, in the same way that we delight in our kids when they try to imitate us.  We’re so pleased that we take pictures and save them for years.  God doesn’t need to take pictures, but I’m sure He is pleased when He sees His beloved children walking in His ways and imitating their Daddy.

