Treasure Chest

What unknown treasures are in your home?

I heard an interesting news story today.  Apparently someone had a certain very special Japanese chest in their home – one that was worth millions of dollars.  But they must have not known the value of that chest because they had used it for a TV stand.  Yes, a TV stand.  Then, after this person died, this special Japanese chest was discovered and sold for (if I remember correctly) 9.7 million dollars.  Wow!  Makes me wonder if I have anything like that.

I don’t think I do, but as I considered the possibility I thought of all those giant coffee table Bibles that people have in their homes.  The words contained within them are very valuable, but the people who own them may not even know it.  Psalm 19:10 says that God’s laws “are more precious than gold, than much pure gold,” (NIV).

And then, what about the people in our homes?  Our relationships are also very valuable.  I have a wonderful husband and great kids.  Jesus told us how much God loves and cares for His people and said, “Consider the ravens:  They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them.  And how much more valuable you are than birds!” (NIV).  The people in my home are very valuable to God, and to me!

I may not have a million dollar Japanese chest in my home, but I have do God’s Word, which is always true and tells me about my amazing God who loves me, cares for me and gave me my wonderful family.  And that is the most valuable thing I know.

A true, known treasure.

