English: Spider

He had it coming.  First he came into my house.  Then he went walking on my carpet.

You see, I was vacuuming and then I saw him.  A spider in the corner of our hallway.  A corner is usually a safe place for a spider from a vacuum.  A vacuum is too big to get into the corner.  So I turned off the vacuum to go get a tissue because spiders are not allowed to live in my house.  Sorry, spiders, but you belong outside.  Then, before I went to get the tissue, the spider crawled out onto the carpet.  Bad choice for the spider.  I turned my vacuum back on and that spider quickly disappeared.

It was a reminder of how we can remain safe, like under God’s umbrella, but when we reject God and disobey Him, we take ourselves outside of that safe zone, like the spider walking away from the corner and out onto the carpet.  Where Satan would like us to be.  And then we’re easy prey.

All over the Bible we’re told to love God with all our heart, with all our mind and with all our strength.  And we’re encouraged to stay close to Jesus.  Psalm 5:11-12 says this, “But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy.  Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.  For surely, O Lord, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield,” (NIV).

As we take refuge in our God, He will spread His protection over us – even when we have to venture out to places that may not seem so safe.  Like when God sent the angel army to protect Elisha in 2 Kings 6.  Psalm 91:9-11 says this, “If you make the Most High your dwelling – even the Lord, who is my refuge – then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent.  For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways, (NIV).

So, are you staying close to Jesus today?  Or are you like that unsafe spider in my hallway?

