IMG_4551The leaves are changing color and the temperature outside is getting cooler.  Yes, things are changing all around us so today I will write a different kind of post.  I don’t think I’ve ever posted a recipe here on my blog before.  I’ve written a silly poem and posted that, but not a recipe.  But the season is changing so for just one day, so will my blog post.

The fall season at my home means it’s time to bake pumpkin bread.  I’ve even used it for gifts at times.  Usually I simply bake it into regular loaf pans, but in the past I have baked it in small loaf pans.  Then after the bread cooled I wrapped the little loaves in plastic wrap, tied a ribbon bow around each one and then added a tag.  Sometimes the tags simply said “Thank you!” and at other times they said “Merry Christmas” to my children’s teachers.  Whenever I have shared the pumpkin bread with others, people have asked for the recipe.  And you know it has to be good because it is originally from my mom who, by the way, is a very good cook.  So here it is for all of you!

PUMPKIN BREAD

Ingredients:  3 1/2 c. flour; 2 t. baking soda; 1 1/2 t. salt; 1 t. cinnamon; 1 t. nutmeg; 1/4 t. ginger; 3 c. sugar; 1 c. vegetable oil; 2/3 c. water; 4 eggs; 2 c. pumpkin (15 oz can).

Directions:  Mix all ingredients well.  Pour into two loaf pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Leave in pan to cool or cool in pan for 10 minutes and then loosen edges with a knife to remove from pan and cool on a cooling rack.

Enjoy your pumpkin bread and the fall season!

