English: Peanut butter cookie with a chocolate...

We made cookies for after-school snack the other day.  As we often do, we placed the cookie sheets right from the oven onto the table, sat down, ate cookies and talked.  As we enjoyed our warm cookies I did something that made me laugh.  And think.

I don’t remember now what we were discussing, but I do remember looking over the cookies that were left on the sheets and deciding which one looked the best to eat next.  Then I took the pancake turner, slid it under that wonderful cookie, picked it up and placed that cookie on my plate.  Then I realized that I still had a cookie on my plate.  That’s when I laughed.  And then my kids laughed.  I had to admit to them what I had done.  I had a perfectly good cookie right there in front of me –  half-eaten, but perfectly good – while I was looking for another cookie to eat.  That’s what made me think.

How many times do we already have what we need, but we aren’t content with what we have.  So often we look for more or for something better when what we already have is perfectly fine.  Just like my half-eaten cookie that I so quickly forgot about.  And the chocolate chips were still warm and melty!  How did I do that?!

Then I thought about this summer when I played Risk with my kids.  It’s a long game so we set it up on our dining room table and played whenever we had time.  We all had a good laugh then, too, because when we began playing that game I told my kids that I was content with what I had.  I had plenty of troops in several countries and I didn’t want to battle them to get more.  Then I as my troops began to dwindle I learned that I had to be more aggressive if I was going to win that game, which I didn’t, but I held on for a long time and it was a fun.

Anyway, that cookie reminded me that God wants us to be content with what we have.  To do the things we are called to do and work hard, but at the same time to be content and trust God, knowing that He cares for us.

Paul wrote, “…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through Him who gives me strength,” (Philippians 4:11-13 NIV).