Okay.  I admit it.  I like “The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.”  You have to see this scene from “The Fellowship of the Ring” where Frodo tells Gandalf that he has arrived late at which time Gandalf informs Frodo that “a wizard is never late” and that he “arrives precisely when he means to.”

I think I’ve always liked this scene because it reminds me of God.  Not that God is a wizard, because He is not.  But sometimes we can feel like God is late.  We can feel like God is not with us or is not taking care of a situation in our life that is important to us.  But then we realize that God’s timing is perfect.  God is never late.  He is always with us and always knows what is going on and what is important to us.  And He “arrives precisely when He means to.”  Because He is God.  And we can be joyful just as Frodo and Gandalf were at the end of this scene.

Even more than “The Lord of the Rings,” I like God’s Word.  The author of Hebrews told us, “God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you,'” (Hebrews 13:5b NIV).  And that we can count on.